Civil Defence

Our Sacred Heart Civil Defence team is involved in the Hutt Valley Secondary Schools Civil Defence Competition. We have won the Hutt Valley Secondary Schools Civil Defence Shield for the last five years and in 2010 the team also won the cup for Team Spirit.

Team members attend training days run by the Lower Hutt City Council Emergency Management Office in conjunction with local fireman and civil defence personnel. They also meet weekly during Term 1 to practise skills such as tying ropes, lashing and moving stretchers for casualties, general ground level rescue techniques, and civil defence information. Along with these skills and knowledge, being part of the team also provides the opportunity to learn valuable team building and leadership skills. The girls are also able to gain First Aid certificates from the Red Cross.

All girls are welcome to join the team, just listen for the notices and come along to a meeting.

This week ...

Friday, 16 August

Saturday, 17 August

HV Netball Finals

Sunday, 18 August

Mountain Biking Makara

Looking ahead ...

Monday 19 August

Teacher Only Day - school is closed for instruction

Tuesday, 20 August

- Yr 10-12 Subject Selection Opens
8.45am - Music Roadshow

Wednesday, 21 August

3.30pm - Leadership Applications Close
3.30pm - Homework Club
3.30pm - Māori Achieve
7.00pm - Board of Trustees Meeting (Library)
7.00pm - Yr 10 Mathswell

Thursday, 22 August

3.30pm - Big Sister Programme
7.00pm - Vietnam Trip Fundraiser

Friday, 23 August

- Yr 13 Wellington Tertiary Open Day
9.00am - CSW Senior Badminton Final

Saturday, 24 August

Sunday, 25 August

honeypot@spinningplanet.co.nz