Civil Defence

Our Sacred Heart Civil Defence team is involved in the Hutt Valley Secondary Schools Civil Defence Competition. We have won the Hutt Valley Secondary Schools Civil Defence Shield for the last five years and in 2010 the team also won the cup for Team Spirit.

Team members attend training days run by the Lower Hutt City Council Emergency Management Office in conjunction with local fireman and civil defence personnel. They also meet weekly during Term 1 to practise skills such as tying ropes, lashing and moving stretchers for casualties, general ground level rescue techniques, and civil defence information. Along with these skills and knowledge, being part of the team also provides the opportunity to learn valuable team building and leadership skills. The girls are also able to gain First Aid certificates from the Red Cross.

All girls are welcome to join the team, just listen for the notices and come along to a meeting.

This week ...

Friday 24 November

NCEA Exams
- Year 9 Camp
- Year 10 Camp
- NISS Junior Water Polo Championships

Saturday 25 November

- NISS Junior Water Polo Championships

Sunday 26 November

- NISS Junior Water Polo Championships
- NISS Junior Volleyball Championships

Looking ahead ...

Monday 27 November

NCEA Exams
8.45am - DOE Silver Training Day

Tuesday 28 November

NCEA Exams
8.45am - Yr 10 SOC Trip
- NISS Junior Volleyball Championships
- CSW Junior Softball Tournament

Wednesday 29 November

NCEA Exams
10.00am - Clearance Day Yrs 11, 12, 13
11.00am - 2018 Peer Support Leaders in PAC
7.00pm - Year 8 Information Evening in PAC
- NISS Junior Volleyball Championships

Thursday 30 November

NCEA Exams
- NISS Junior Volleyball Championships

Friday 1 December

NCEA Exams
- NZSS Athletics Championships

Saturday 2 December

- NZSS Athletics Championships

Sunday 3 December

- DOE Gold Qualifying Expedition

honeypot@spinningplanet.co.nz