TechnologyFoodNutritionimagefade3.jpgTechnologyFoodNutritionimagefade2.jpgTechnologyFoodNutritionimagefade1.jpgTechnologyFoodNutritionimagefade4.jpg

Food & Nutrition - Home Economics

Home Economics is relevant, challenging, enjoyable, interesting, and useful.  As a subject it provides meaningful and real-life learning experiences for students. Students will develop an understanding of how their food choices affect their wellbeing. They learn about the actions necessary to improve their own wellbeing and that of their family and community in New Zealand.

Through the process of selecting, preparing, cooking and serving food, students develop their creativity and experience a sense of accomplishment. At the same time they develop skills that contribute to their well-being.

Food Technology focusses on developing knowledge and skills about the use of ingredients to process, preserve, pack and store products.

Home Economics creates vocational and learning pathways for future nutritionists, dietitians, policy advisors, early childhood educators, home economics teachers, health practitioners, food technologists, food writers, food stylists, researchers, food product developers, chefs, hotel management and sport nutritionists.

This week ...

Friday, 16 August

Saturday, 17 August

HV Netball Finals

Sunday, 18 August

Mountain Biking Makara

Looking ahead ...

Monday 19 August

Teacher Only Day - school is closed for instruction

Tuesday, 20 August

- Yr 10-12 Subject Selection Opens
8.45am - Music Roadshow

Wednesday, 21 August

3.30pm - Leadership Applications Close
3.30pm - Homework Club
3.30pm - Māori Achieve
7.00pm - Board of Trustees Meeting (Library)
7.00pm - Yr 10 Mathswell

Thursday, 22 August

3.30pm - Big Sister Programme
7.00pm - Vietnam Trip Fundraiser

Friday, 23 August

- Yr 13 Wellington Tertiary Open Day
9.00am - CSW Senior Badminton Final

Saturday, 24 August

Sunday, 25 August

honeypot@spinningplanet.co.nz